HireValid may fit if...
You hire a few times a year for common roles, want published monthly prices and a way to pause between rounds, and are happy with a focused library of 24 tests.
What each TestGorilla assessment plan costs, how annual and monthly billing work, and what a year of testing costs if you only hire a few times a year.
TestGorilla pricing, checked on 2026-10-02: the Free assessments plan costs $0 with 10 credits a month; Core starts from $215 a month per account, billed annually; and Plus starts from $520 a month per account, billed annually. The pricing page offers monthly or annual billing and says paying annually saves 25%. For comparison, HireValid Starter is $49 a month, billed monthly, with a $9 Pause plan.
| Free | Core | Plus | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Listed price | $0/monthSource, checked 2026-10-02 | From $215/month per account, billed annuallySource, checked 2026-10-02 | From $520/month per account, billed annuallySource, checked 2026-10-02 |
| Credits | 10 credits per month, refreshes monthlySource, checked 2026-10-02 | 1 credit per candidate; account total not statedSource, checked 2026-10-02 | 1 credit per candidate; shared account-wide poolSource, checked 2026-10-02 |
| Skills tests | 5 essential tests, unlimited use; 180+ tests with limited useSource, checked 2026-10-02 | Full test library, 350+ testsSource, checked 2026-10-02 | Full test library, plus an AI interviews librarySource, checked 2026-10-02 |
| Premium user roles | 1Source, checked 2026-10-02 | 2Source, checked 2026-10-02 | UnlimitedSource, checked 2026-10-02 |
| Custom questions per assessment | 5 presetSource, checked 2026-10-02 | 5Source, checked 2026-10-02 | Up to 20Source, checked 2026-10-02 |
| ATS and API integrations | Not verified; ask provider | Not verified; ask provider | Listed on PlusSource, checked 2026-10-02 |
| Anti-cheating features listed | Not verified; ask provider | Not verified; ask provider | Webcam snapshots, disabled copy/paste, full-screen mode and moreSource, checked 2026-10-02 |
Free. The Free assessments plan gives you 10 credits a month that refresh monthly, unlimited use of five essential skills tests and limited use of 180+ further tests, which the pricing page says have fewer questions than the full versions. It lists one premium user role and five preset custom questions. It is a reasonable way to try TestGorilla on a single small round.
Core. Core opens the full library of 350+ tests, with credits charged at one per candidate. The pricing page lists two premium user roles and five essay or file-upload custom questions per assessment. It does not state how many credits Core includes, so ask TestGorilla how many candidates your price covers before you sign.
Plus. Plus adds an AI interviews library, custom AI interviews and video questions, a job simulations library, ATS and API integrations, the option to remove TestGorilla branding, unlimited premium user roles and up to 20 custom questions per assessment. It also lists the anti-cheating settings: webcam snapshots, disabled copy and paste, multiple-attempt prevention, logging of candidate location, full-screen mode, hidden questions and answers, and question exposure monitoring.
No enterprise or custom tier was listed when we checked. Prices and inclusions change, so confirm the current details on TestGorilla's pricing page before you buy.
Both options appear. TestGorilla's pricing page has a toggle between paying monthly and paying annually, and says paying annually saves 25%. The headline Core and Plus prices are shown per month but billed annually, which means the lowest published price for Core is a commitment of at least $2,580 for the year.
When we checked, the page text did not list the monthly prices. If you want a TestGorilla monthly plan rather than a TestGorilla annual contract, ask for the monthly rate in writing, and check how cancellation works. We did not find cancellation or refund terms on the pricing page.
The difference matters most for teams that hire in bursts. Annual billing is good value when you test candidates every month; it is less attractive when you hire in two or three rounds a year and pay for the months in between. Our page on hiring tests without an annual contract explains the trade-off in more detail.
TestGorilla's cost per hire depends on how many people you hire in the year, not only on the plan. At the lowest published Core price, billed annually, a team that makes four hires in a year pays at least $645 per hire in subscription cost alone; a team that makes forty hires pays about $65 per hire. The price is the same, but the cost per hire falls as volume rises.
The table below compares a year of TestGorilla Core at its lowest published annual price with HireValid Starter for three hiring calendars, assuming up to 50 candidates in each hiring month. HireValid moves to Pause at $9 a month in the months without hiring. These are illustrative calculations from published prices, not quotes; the calculator further down lets you set your own months and candidate numbers.
| HireValid Starter, monthly with Pause | TestGorilla Core, lowest published | |
|---|---|---|
| 2 hiring months a year | $188 (2 x $49 + 10 x $9) | From $2,580 (12 x $215, billed annually)Source, checked 2026-10-02 |
| 6 hiring months a year | $348 (6 x $49 + 6 x $9) | From $2,580 (12 x $215, billed annually)Source, checked 2026-10-02 |
| Hiring every month | $588 monthly, or $490 billed annually | From $2,580 (12 x $215, billed annually)Source, checked 2026-10-02 |
HireValid is monthly by default, with a free plan and a $9 Pause plan between rounds.
A price page never tells the whole story. Before you commit to any assessment platform, TestGorilla included, ask these questions and keep the answers in writing:
The same questions apply to HireValid. Our answers are on the pricing page: plans are monthly, you can cancel any time, and you can pause between hiring rounds.
TestGorilla reviews on software review sites are worth reading, but read them with the pricing in mind. A review from a recruiting team that tests candidates every week tells you little about value for a business that hires twice a year, and older reviews may describe plans or prices that have since changed.
We do not quote ratings or reviews from third-party sites on this page, because we cannot verify them. Instead, look for reviewers whose hiring volume and roles match yours, and pay attention to comments about credits, renewals and support rather than headline scores. Then try the Free plan on a real role and judge for yourself.
TestGorilla pricing rewards heavy use, so TestGorilla is worth the cost when you will use it every month. If you hire every month, across many different roles, the 350+ test library covers specialist skills that a small library will not, and the annual discount rewards steady use. Plus makes sense if you need native ATS integrations, AI interviews or the full list of anti-cheating settings.
It is also a good fit for recruiting teams with several users who need their own premium roles, since Plus lists unlimited premium user roles. In those cases the TestGorilla cost per hire falls quickly as volume rises, and the breadth is a genuine advantage.
HireValid is built for the opposite situation: small teams that hire a few times a year for common roles. Plans are monthly by default and cancellable any time. The Free plan includes five candidates a month with no credit card, Starter costs $49 a month for 50 candidates and Growth costs $129 a month for 200 candidates, five team seats and fairness reports. Between rounds, Pause keeps your account and records viewable for $9 a month, and candidate packs add 25 candidates for $25 when a round runs over.
The library is smaller: 24 tests across cognitive ability, situational judgement, practical, technical and language skills, combined into eleven role bundles. Every result includes an Integrity Score for human review. For a full side-by-side, read HireValid vs TestGorilla.
You hire a few times a year for common roles, want published monthly prices and a way to pause between rounds, and are happy with a focused library of 24 tests.
You test candidates every month across many roles, need a library of 350+ tests or Plus features such as ATS integrations, and will use enough credits to justify annual billing.
Look back over the last year and count the months in which you actually invited candidates to tests.
Estimate how many applicants you would test in a typical round, since both products charge by candidate.
Ask TestGorilla for the credit total and monthly rate on the plan you would buy, in writing.
Compare the total for a whole year, including the months you would not be hiring, not the headline monthly price.
On its pricing page, checked on 2026-10-02, Core starts from $215 a month per account and Plus from $520 a month per account, both billed annually. The Free plan costs $0 with 10 credits a month. Monthly billing is offered, but the monthly prices were not listed in the page text we checked.
The TestGorilla free plan includes 10 credits a month that refresh monthly, unlimited use of five essential skills tests and limited use of 180+ further tests with fewer questions. It lists one premium user role. It suits a small trial round rather than regular hiring.
The headline Core and Plus prices are billed annually, and the pricing page says paying annually saves 25%. A pay-monthly option is shown too. Ask TestGorilla for the monthly price and the cancellation terms in writing before you choose.
The pricing page lists one credit per candidate on Core and Plus, and Plus describes a shared account-wide credit pool. It does not publish how many credits each paid plan includes, so ask TestGorilla how many candidates your price covers and what extra credits cost.
The Free plan costs nothing but is limited to 10 credits a month. The cheapest paid plan is Core, from $215 a month per account billed annually, or at least $2,580 a year. A small business that hires a few times a year may pay much less on a monthly plan with a pause option.
Its pricing page describes credits charged at one per candidate on Core and Plus, inside a plan price. HireValid works on candidates per month: 5 on Free, 50 on Starter for $49 and 200 on Growth for $129, in US dollars, with packs of 25 candidates for $25.
We did not find a pause option on TestGorilla’s pricing page, so ask TestGorilla directly. HireValid offers a Pause plan for $9 a month that keeps your account and records viewable between hiring rounds, and you can return to Starter or Growth when the next round starts.
Start free with five candidates a month. No credit card and no annual contract.
Compare pre-employment testing tools side by side: TestGorilla alternatives, pricing pages and listicles, with sourced facts, check dates and a clear policy.
ExploreMonthly hiring assessment software with no annual contract: full price only in hiring months, pause for $9, cancel any time, start on the Free plan.
ExploreLooking for a TestGorilla alternative? Compare HireValid and TestGorilla on contract, price, test library and AI resistance, with sourced facts and dates.
ExploreA Criteria Corp alternative for small teams: compare HireValid and Criteria on the CCAT, pricing, contracts and AI resistance, with sourced, dated facts.
ExploreA Wonderlic alternative with monthly plans: compare HireValid and Wonderlic on cognitive tests, pricing, contracts and AI resistance, with sourced facts.
ExploreThe best TestGorilla alternatives for small businesses in 2026: nine tools compared on contract, entry price, free plan and test library, with sources.
ExploreThe best pre-employment assessment tools for small businesses, grouped by type: skills, cognitive, coding and video, compared on price and contract terms.
ExploreExplore advanced hiring assessments and integrity tools built for the AI era.